Have your cake and eat it too at The Sweet Shoppe

The Sweet Shoppe is perhaps Mount Clemens’ best-kept secret.

Sweet ShoppeTucked in the corner of Gumbo’s on North Walnut Street, the charming bakery stands ready for business. Like something out of Willy Wonka’s factory, the counters are filled with delectable sweet treats—apple turnovers, lemon poppy seed muffins, cinnamon rolls, chocolate chip cookies, and more.

Owner Christina Taite is new to the baking world, but she’s already running her business like a pro.

“I’ve always wanted to be an entrepreneur,” Taite says. “I’ve worked here at Gumbo’s with my mother-in-law for years. So when the opportunity arose, opening a bakery here just made sense.”

The business is a family affair. “After working 10-hour shifts at his own job, my husband Craig still comes to the shop to help me out. My daughters visit the Sweet Shoppe every day. Most of the customers know them already, because they grew up in the restaurant,” Taite adds. “It’s my daughters’ dream to own a bakery one day, so hopefully I can build something for them to take over.”

Gumbo’s, owned and operated by the Taite family, is an authentic Cajun/Creole restaurant with some of the best po’boys ever made outside of New Orleans. It’s no wonder, then, that one of Christina Taite’s favorite Sweet Shoppe items are beignets: a traditional New Orleans dessert similar to a fritter.

Sweet Shoppe 2But Taite wants you to know that her shop offers more than just delicious pastries. “We have coffee and tea, as well as floats, shakes, sundaes, and smoothies. My personal favorite is the strawberry-banana, but our mango-pineapple is very popular too.”

Another reason Taite’s products are so scrumptious? They are made with local ingredients.

“Recently I got some freshly picked blueberries from a farm near here, so I decided to make blueberry cobbler with them. And of course, all our floats are made with Faygo. Whenever I can, I try to use Michigan-based products,” says Taite.

Sweet Shoppe 3As for me, I tried the pineapple upside-down cake—warm, melty, and drizzled with caramel sauce—and immediately fell in love-at-first-taste. Now I can’t wait to go back and try everything else on the menu!

The Sweet Shoppe is open from 10 a.m. – 3 p.m. Monday-Thursday and from 10 a.m. – 8 p.m. Friday.  Whether you get dessert after a hearty meal at Gumbo’s or you just pop in for a refreshing smoothie, it’s the perfect place to indulge your sweet tooth.

JennaJenna Russell is an intern at the Macomb County Department of Planning and Economic Development. She is a senior at Oakland University.

Leave a Reply

